top of page
Writer's pictureAlasha Heard

Welcome to Me, or at least a version of me.

I became afraid to embrace my authentic self, so many years of trauma, so many years of feeling unworthy, unpolished, unhealed that I thought "It will always be this way, I will never stop feeling the way I do about myself, my life, and my circumstance." I used attention from my male counterpart to fill in the hole that was once pure. That was once energetic and optimistic. Meeting these gentlemen at first filled that gap I thought I created, but as time went on, and I let them into my temple, my realm of thoughts and imagination, the once filled space was slowly emptying itself out. I did not leave the person I was with, but rather clinged on to images I projected of a chivalrous and hopeless romantic partner. Not only did this damage me presently, but would dig a deeper hole that I am still grasping and clawing my way out of.


It is not to say that I will never find my peace, because I consider myself a better version of me than yesterday, than last month, than last year. Yet, I still feel remnants of my past transgression inside of me, boiling, waiting for the chance to engulf me once more. I write this with intent to change. Intent to see that my authentic self is okay with being a little tarnished. It is okay to a have a spot unpolished. It is what creates a version of me that is real. Not running away from the truth. Not cowering at the sight of realness and authenticity. It is a step in the right direction of learning to love me. Learning to understand me.


So welcome to me, or at least this version of me.





84 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page